Come Swim with us in Clearwater, Florida - Open Water Training - "As Seen in Men's Journal Magazine"
Boot Camp

Our Open Water Boot Camp offers comprehensive, training sessions tailored to meet your needs. Qualifying swims for the English Channel or Manhattan are possible in Florida during the winter. Temperatures at Clearwater Beach in January and February usually hover around 60F, so we can help you train for cold water swimming or we can help you do a qualifying swim for the English Channel or Manhattan. Our warm summer waters are great for open water training with a concentration on technique, navigation, and training drills. Private training sessions last 4 to 8 hours. Group sessions are also available. Call or Email to reserve your date.

727.531.7999 | Send Email

Read about my 3 swims of the Triple Crown

1. THE ENGLISH CHANNEL: Swimming Everest - by Terry Tomalin of the St. Petersburg Times - The 21-mile crossing of the English Channel is the open-water peak for challengers such as Ron Collins. They call it the Everest of open-water swimming. "It doesn't matter how many times you have swum around Manhattan or across Tampa Bay," Collins said a few days before he would attempt to add his name to the record book. "When it comes to long-distance swims, there is only one that matters and that is the English Channel." MORE>>>

2. MANHATTAN ISLAND: One Lap, 28.5 Miles - by Terry Tomalin of the St. Peterburg Times - This race took place only 9 months after 9.11.01 and the 28 Mile Manhattan Island Marathon Swim starts and finishes near Ground Zero. The circumnavigation of the island of Manhattan took about 8 hours to swim, but all thoughts were still on the tragic events that took place nearby. MORE>>>

3. CATALINA CHANNEL: Catalina Channel Do-Over To Achieve The Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming - Swimmers who complete three famous marathon swims are added to a list for completing the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming. Believe it or not, it's become wildly popular to swim the 21 miles (33.7 km) across the English Channel between England and France, the 20.2 miles (33 km) across the Catalina Channel in Southern California, USA, and the 28.5 miles (45.8 km) around Manhattan Island in New York, USA. MORE>>>



Welcome to - Home of the 17th Annual 24 Mile Tampa Bay Marathon Swim on Saturday, April 19, 2014

On race day, you can see GPS trackers for each swimmer's escort boat, via our live feed. WATCH LIVE starting at 7am on Saturday, April 19th >>>>

April 16,  2014, 12:01 pm Eastern Time

For Immediate Release

SOURCE: Distance Matters, Inc.

Meet the Competitors of the 2014 Tampa Bay Marathon Swim

The Seventeenth Annual 24 Mile Tampa Bay Marathon Swim will be held on Easter weekend, Saturday, April 19th, 2014

Marathon SwimSixteen solo swimmers, and four relay teams from across the United States and Canada have entered The Seventeenth Annual Tampa Bay Marathon Swim.

One of the field's top competitors is returning as a seasoned veteran, but Samantha Simon's first marathon swim was in Tampa Bay in 2008, when she was just about to graduate high school as an 18 year old. Not only did she complete that challenge in 8 hours, 59 minutes, she also went on to successfully complete swims of The English Channel (13 hours, 11 minutes), The Manhattan Island Marathon Swim (8 hours, 10 minutes), and The Catalina Channel (9 hrs, 22 minutes) in 2010, at age 20, to become the youngest person to complete the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming.

If Carl Selles, 67, completes the swim, he will become the oldest to swim the 24 mile length of Tampa Bay. He splits his time between St. Petersburg, Florida, and Aurora, Colorado, and was recently featured in a Denver Post story about his preparation for marathon swims. READ MORE >>>

On race day, you can see GPS trackers for each swimmer's escort boat, via our live feed. WATCH LIVE at 7am on Saturday, April 19th >>>>

This is a replay of our 2012 Race:

Start List for April 19, 2014

Samantha Simon, 24F, Janesville, WI
Lisa Hertz, 28F, Winter Haven, FL
Thomas Bell, 45M, Wyomissing, PA
Kevin Joubert, 41M, Towson, MD
Gabriel Viti, 50M, Highland Park, IL
Thomas Hintz, 48M, Marshall, IL
Willy Blumentals, 41M, Secaucus, NJ
Bridgette Hobart, 51F, Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Carl Selles, 67M, Aurora, CO
Ann von Spiegelfeld, 52F, Tampa, FL
Dan Fritz, 50M, Chicago, IL
Arnie Bellini, 54M, Tampa, FL
Bart Cobb, 59M, Tampa, FL
Genevieve Mackwood, 54F, Ottawa, Ontario
Brian Lanahan, 38M, Charleston, SC
Steve Faulkner, 52M, Barrie, Ontario

Bull Shark Beach Open Water Swim Club
Big Donald Lutton, 44M, Miami, FL
Andrew Lutton, 49M, Tampa, FL
Christopher Beach, 44M, Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Bubba Drody, 45M, Coral Gables, FL
Juan Cue, 54M, Tampa, FL
Scott Linebaugh, 53M, Tampa, FL

Delmarva Dogfish
David Speier, 58M, Bishopville, MD
Jennifer Underwood, 31F, Salisbury, MD
Bill Snyder, 64M, Princess Anne, MD
Jeffrey Benner, 54M, Salisbury, MD
Charles Potterton, 38M,Salisbury, MD
Bruce Anderson, 61M, Salisbury, MD

Kona Kaizen
Vince Schaper, 49M, St. Paul, MN
Hadar Aviram, 39F, San Francisco, CA
Cynthia Thomas, 65F, Houston, TX

SYSM Shark Bait
Fernette Ramnath, 48F, Englewood, CO
Terri Goodman, 54F, Sarasota, FL
Marty Rauch, 49M, Sarasota, FL
Ray Becker, 53M, Sarasota, FL

On race day, you can see GPS trackers for each swimmer's escort boat, via our live feed. WATCH LIVE at 7am on Saturday, April 19th >>>>

Marathon Swim

The Tampa Bay Marathon Swim has been named one America's Top 100 Open Water Swims for 2014 and has been listed as one of the 30 "World Swimming Majors" by WOWSA. Since this event was first staged in 1998, it has drawn competitors from across the United States, and from Great Britain, Guatemala, Italy, Mexico, Australia, Japan, Argentina, Dominican Republic, Germany, India, Canada, and the Cayman Islands.

"The swim can be rough and tough, foggy and warm, where the unexpected can be expected," described Steven Munatones. "The World Open Water Swimming Association wishes the swimmers and the race organization best wishes for success."

Email the Race Director for more information, or to indicate your interest in entering as a swimmer or to receive more information about becoming an event volunteer.

Tampa Bay Marathon Swim Records

7:41 - Chris Derks, 2002 (Overall & Men's Record)
7:51 - Penny Palfrey, 2008 (Women's Record)
15:10 - Flavia Zappa, 2011 (Swam the Longest)
9:52 - Ron Collins, 1998 (First Swimmer)
8:34 - Gail Rice, 1998 (First Woman)
7:53 - Team Hammerhead, 2006 (Fastest Relay 3)
7:39 - The Sharks, 2006 (Fastest Relay 6)
13:09 - Dr. Konrad Euler (Oldest Swimmer 66)
For more information, contact:
The Tampa Bay Marathon Swim
Distance Matters, Inc.
Ron Collins, Race Director
PO Box 18004
Clearwater, FL 33762-9998
727.531.7999 |

Visit the Tampa Bay Marathon Swim on Facebook to connect with other participants, and view pictures/video from the event, dating back to April 1998. Go to Facebook Now >>>


Past Results  13 | 12 |  11 10 | 09 | 08 | 07 | 06 | 05 | 04 | 03 | 02 | 01 | 00 | 99 | 98

Copyright ©1998-2014 by Distance Matters, Inc. PO Box 18004 Clearwater, FL 33762-9998 Telephone 727 531 7999 All rights reserved. Reproduction of material without permission is prohibited. Email us at